The Biblical “Being in the wilderness” situation

Some people have seen and heard me make reference to this and weren’t sure what I mean by it so I decided to write this up and hopefully it might help someone. 🙂

This is going to get a little more personal today because I feel the need to try and reach out in an attempt to hopefully send out the message to others that are likely in equal to worse situations.   I have some friends at a distance and some prayer partners that have been keeping tabs on us and believe me that’s appreciated.  🙂

 

What does “being in the wilderness” mean?

http://www.gotquestions.org/wilderness-experience.html

This is as good of a clean and well written overview of what apparently is happening to a lot of Christians right now from my gatherings.  This most definitely applies right now to my family and I.

When you combine this with the effects and fallout of  living on an increasingly evil planet and all that goes with it, seen and unseen. (Ephesians 6)  it’s not a pleasant situation to say the least.

I can’t say there was any recent spiritual mountaintop experience that immediately preceded this per se although I can say that last year, 2015, the Lord delivered us out of a nasty cult situation and a spiritual entrapment issue involving some of the people from there at extensions.   This could have been a LOT worse for what it was but it was bad enough.

During that same time period my mother went through a hip replacement process that was much easier than it should have been and essentially saw a miraculous healing in that she was walking around a week after the fact and needed virtually no physical therapy.  This is someone who is pushing 70 and has advanced arthritis and a couple of MRIs that made a health insurance company offer to hire her legal services because they thought she had been in a bad car wreck.   Everyone was amazed at how well she did and how smoothly everything went from start to finish. It was jaw dropping.

The truth of the matter is that I feel like I’ve spent most of my life living in the wilderness. A friend of mine and I once talked about “being stuck behind those four walls.”   I wonder if I ever did get out?  We all feel that way here.  “The only way out of this mess is up” like LA Marzulli (and others) keep saying.  I suspect that’s likely true but we have no idea how long that’s going to take and we have to get along in the mean time.

If we are mostly satisfied that this isn’t an outright punishment or chastisement scenario… and there may be some degree of chastisement even at that… this overarching wilderness scenario is certainly in play. No doubt about it.

From what I have gathered a lot of Christians are in this boat right now and if you combine this with the increasingly Lot like vexxation of living in increasingly evil surroundings with no way out but up then it starts to paint a bigger picture.

This blog entry isn’t very eloquent but I hope this potentially puts this in sharper relief for anyone that reads it.

I sincerely hope and pray that on our end we don’t do or not do anything that needlessly prolongs the process. The Israelis went around the same mountain “in the wilderness” 40 years because of unbelief and that spooks me.  ‘Round and ’round you go…

Typically the other main reason people are in these situations is they are set aside for detox (from bad teaching, experiences, etc.), healing (we definitely need some here in a big way), and being prepared for whatever comes next.  (No idea)

Protection.  This is very conceivable. We could very well be under protection from any number of things, temptations, unseen elements… who knows what?

 

Biblical passages that are upfront for us:

Proverbs 27:1, Matthew 6:25-34, Philippians 4:6-7,  Matthew 7:7-8,  Psalm 37 is loaded but especially 1-5 , Ephesians 6:10-18,  2 Corinthians 12:9   this one is tough. It almost reads like a backhand slap on its face and a dismissal of sorts although I know that’s not how it’s meant.  It’s way above my pay grade and I freely admit it I don’t understand that or how it works.

Proverbs 3:5-7.    This is right at the center of things.  Don’t lean on your own understanding.

Jeremiah 17:9    This is a nice cousin to what is said in the above Proverb. This is part of why we can’t and shouldn’t lean on our own understandings because right now my own understandings (and outside interference) are tempting me to do any number  of rash and stupid things.

Luke 18:1-8   A parable that demonstrates on of numerous aspects of God’s character, generosity, and how views earnest prayer vs a hyperbole contrast.   An example of the kinds of promises we are claiming and clinging to in terms of prayer.

WORRY/CONCERN:

See? Worry. I’m not supposed to being doing that.  😉

The Bible makes a lot of mentions of “sloths” “sluggards”  “lazy” and/or even parables about the man who buried the talent in the sand and so forth.

Wasting…squandering….  I worry about these things and of being guilty of them and I always have.  Yes, there’s that “do not worry” violation yet again. 😉

I’m very good at worrying and fretting I’ll have you know. I have it down to an amazing art form complete with years and decades’ projections and prognostications that would make Nostradamus blush.  I’m happy to report that I have a miserable accuracy record on said projections and believe me: Nothing would make me happier than to continue that losing streak! 🙂

Due to numerous circumstances including some bad teaching that I picked up over the years I admit that I have spent far too long and still worry that I was and even am still guilty of at least some of these concepts. I have repented of all of these things many times over regardless of whether they are all applicable or not. That’s where I’m at. I’d rather overshoot and overkill.   Even if I am guilty of all of those things He can still fix it.

I do understand that there are numerous macro issues that are not my fault and beyond my control as well especially given the context of coming New World Orders and things that go along with that.  There is a lot of fallout from the likes of that several decades’ worth of tidal wave.   I am someone who likes to solve problems and fix things and some of this I simply can’t nor is it my responsibility.

 

PRAYER:

One thing I find myself praying a lot is essentially:  Lord, don’t let me dishonor you.   It sounds simple on the surface but that’s a loaded prayer.

 

SPIRITUAL ATTACKS:

https://banditzlayer.wordpress.com/2016/03/03/3-3-16-prayers-and-exhortations/

This is all still well in play for us and a lot of other people. It’s daily or close to it.

Going to a shrink and taking pills will not make this all go away.  Honestly if it where that simple I’d happily do it.  Unfortunately I’m not in the mood to commit suicide which is what happens to far too many people that take those pills after they disassociate and especially after their doctor doesn’t put them on just one but up to three at the same time!  No thanks.

There is a time and a place to handle potential chemical imbalance issues but I know that isn’t the case here for us and way too many people I have been matching notes with.

But I digress.

ENCOURAGEMENT:

Take a careful read through Romans 8 because there are many promises in there that we here certainly are clinging to very tightly and counting on and if you are a believer in Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior you, too, can claim these promises.   🙂

We have a lot to be thankful for and are indeed blessed in a lot of ways and we have attempted increasingly to concentrate on these things which I recommend to everyone.

Colossians 3:1-2    This is an example of a passage that I really would like to strive more towards but I can’t do it.  Only the Holy Spirit can do it and I really want him to because it doesn’t have a “nuts and bolts practicality” to it on its face.

Phillippians 4:11-13

10 But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity.

11Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.    (I really would love to get to this level  -EW) 

12I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.  (Amen, the only way!)

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Biblical “Being in the wilderness” situation

  1. Bless your dear heart! Maybe you should look at your definition of “worrying”…..as far as I can see you are diligently looking and studying the problems to do what pleases Him……that is different than worrying which is a stress filled mind maze to solve things by your own power…..you are doing just what He wants.

  2. Reblogged this on MidnightQ and commented:
    Ditto. Not going thru the exact same thing specifically but definitely in the wilderness with similar thoughts and concerns.

  3. Pingback: 4-11-16: Monday’s Overload | Watching the Watchers

Comments are closed.